by BhartiyaExam - 21-Dec-2018 03:03 PM {{viewCount}} Views {{commentsList.length}} Comment

Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian honour, given for exceptional service towards advancement of Art, Literature and Science, Sports and in recognition of Public Service of the highest order. The provision of Bharat Ratna was introduced in 1954.

Bharat Ratna

The original specifications for the award called for a circular gold medal, 35 mm in diameter, with the sun and the Hindi legend "Bharat Ratna" above and a floral wreath below. The reverse was to carry the state emblem and motto. It was to be worn around the neck from a white ribbon. This design was altered after a year.

The first ever Indian to receive this award was the famous scientist, Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman. Since then, many dignitaries, each a whiz in varied aspects of their career has received this coveted award. 

List of recipients

Sachin Tendulkar    2014    Cricketer
C. N. R. Rao    2014    Scientist
Bhimsen Joshi    2009    Hindustani classical singer
Bismillah Khan    2001    Hindustani classical shehnai player
Lata Mangeshkar    2001    Playback singer
Gopinath Bordoloi    1999    Posthumous, independence activist, Chief Minister of Assam
Amartya Sen    1999    Economist from Kolkata and a Noble laureate
Ravi Shankar    1999    Sitar player from Calcutta
Jayaprakash Narayan    1998    Posthumous, independence activist and politician
Chidambaram Subramaniam    1998    Independence activist, Minister of Agriculture
M. S. Subbulakshmi    1998    Carnatic classical singer
Aruna Asaf Ali    1997    Posthumous, independence activist
Gulzarilal Nanda    1997    Independence activist, interim Prime Minister
A. P. J. Abdul Kalam    1997    Aeronautical Engineer,11th President of India
Satyajit Ray    1992    Bengali Filmmaker
J. R. D. Tata    1992    Industrialist and philanthropist
Abul Kalam Azad    1992    Posthumous, independence activist, first Minister of Education
Morarji Desai    1991    Independence activist, fourth Prime Minister
Vallabhbhai Patel    1991    Posthumous, independence activist, first Home Minister,Was responsible for unification of all Indian princely states.
Rajiv Gandhi    1991    Posthumous, Sixth Prime Minister.
Nelson Mandela    1990    Second non-citizen and non-Indian recipient, Leader of the Anti-Apartheid movement and Noble laureate
B. R. Ambedkar    1990    Posthumous, Chief architect of the Indian Constitution,Crusader against Untouchability, Dalit Icon, Social Reformer, Historian, politician, economist, and scholar
M. G. Ramachandran    1988    Posthumous, film actor, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu
Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan    1987    First non-citizen, independence activist
Vinoba Bhave    1983    Posthumous, social reformer, independence activist
Mother Teresa of Calcutta    1980    Catholic nun, founder of the Missionaries of Charity in Kolkata and Noble laureate
K. Kamaraj    1976    Posthumous, independence activist, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu State
V. V. Giri    1975    Trade unionist and fourth President
Indira Gandhi    1971    Third Prime Minister,The First Woman Prime Minister of India(1966-1977,1980-1984)
Lal Bahadur Shastri    1966    Posthumous, independence activist, second Prime Minister
Pandurang Vaman Kane    1963    Indologist and Sanskrit scholar
Zakir Hussain    1963    Independence activist, Scholar, third President
Rajendra Prasad    1962    Independence activist, jurist, first President
Purushottam Das Tandon    1961    Independence activist, educator
Bidhan Chandra Roy    1961    Physician, Chief Minister of West Bengal
Dhondo Keshav Karve    1958    Educator, social reformer
Govind Ballabh Pant    1957    Independence activist, Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, Home Minister
Jawaharlal Nehru    1955    Independence activist, author, first Prime Minister
Mokshagundam Visvesvarayya    1955    Civil engineer, Diwan of Mysore
Bhagwan Das    1955    Independence activist, author, Founder of Kashi Vidya Peeth
Radhakrishnan    1954    Philosopher, India's First Vice President (1952-1962), and India's Second President(1962-1967)
C. V. Raman    1954    Physicist from Madras and a Nobel laureate
C Rajagopalachari    1954    Independence activist, last and the only Indian Governor-General of India

Previous Next

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Get all latest content delivered to your email a few times a month.

Important General Knowledge